Summer Reading

Summer brings a different type of busy. For me it brings lots of driving. I drive kids to swim team, life guarding, discovery guard, play dates, stores, and errands. This doesn’t leave me with lots of time to read, but it does leave me with a good amount of time to listen to books on CD.

I’ve wanted to read ‘Unbroken’ by Laura HIllenbrand for awhile. I even checked the book out from the library in February, but never read it. It sat on my piano for the 3 week borrowing time and then went back to the library. So, I decided the only way I was going to get this book read was to listen to it on CD in my car.

It’s a WWII story of Louie Zamperini. From an undisciplined hooligan to an Olympic runner, to an army hero. He survived 47 days in a plastic life raft after his plane crashed and then becomes a POW of the Japanese who mistreat him for half of the book. Then he comes home, becomes an alcoholic dealing with flash backs and rage issues. I got to the end of this book and wondered when this ‘Unbroken’ part is going to start. Well, with just pages left Louie goes to a Billy Graham revival and gives his life to Christ and his life turns around – he’s ‘Unbroken’

I really like the end of the book. It was very inspiring and spoke to me, but the POW part was way too much information and took up too much of the book. I would have liked to have learned more about the ‘unbroken’ part of Louie’s life.

So at the same time we were listening to this, we were listening to ‘The Magic Thief – Lost’ by Sarah Prineas. This was a book I grabbed at the library because I knew the kids would like it. I figured it would be a second class Harry Potter book and I’d suffer through it for their sake. But, it turned out to be pretty interesting and much better written then I thought it would be. I also got to listen to the end three time because we didn’t quite make it through the book before two of my kids had to go to camp, and all of them wanted to finish the book, so I guess that means they liked it.

This book is about Conn a boy wizard who ends up destroying a sorcerer king and completing his quest. The end of the book is an obvious set up for the next book where he’ll get welcomed back into his own city and save it once again. I don’t know if we’ll read the next book in this series, but I wouldn’t be opposed to it.

The next book (and I actually read this in book format) I read was ‘Forgive my Fins’ by Tera Lynn Childs I know corny title. I was at a twitter party (don’t ask) and it was about this book. So, I had to check it out from the library. It’s written for teens, but that didn’t stop me from enjoying it. It’s a mermaid book which I hear are popular right now (if I actually had any girls I might know this, but I’ll just have to take ‘their’ word on this). A mermaid princess is going to high school and think she likes Brody, but the boy next door Quince likes her, but of course she doesn’t like him. She ends up mistakenly kissing Quince and has to take him to her underwater kingdom. At the end she ends up finding out she doesn’t like Brody, but really likes Quince (Like you didn’t see that coming). It was cute. So much so that I have the next book on hold at the library. This would have been a great book to read on the beach.

Now that our summer if half over I can’t wait to see what book we end up reading for the next half of summer!

Stay tuned…

About momof4boyz

I am a stay at home mom of 4 boys ranging in age from 14-20. They are growing up! I have a new hobby - running! I am also President of a non-profit organization.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

