VBS

I taught for another year at Vacation Bible School (VBS) at my church. I think it was my 14th year, since I’ve been teaching since my oldest son was 4 and he is now 17. But, I can’t remember for sure because I do remember he was not ever in the 4 year old class, but his first class was the 4/5 year old class, but I think he was in that for two years and maybe he was in that class because the 4’s were full. Well, anyway, it’s been a long time!

We are now repeating all the curriculum’s that I have already taught, which in some ways makes it a bit easier because I can remember some things about them. But in some ways it makes them harder because I don’t remember a lot about them.

This year the theme was Olympics (you can see my previous post about decorating) and I have good memories of that one! I love the theme and I also love that we have all our of lessons from the book of Joshua. Who doesn’t love Joshua…we started with the story of the spies for some history (10 were bad 2 were good…catchy song if you know it), then moved to the crossing of the Jordan, Rahab, battle of Jerico, Achan, and the battle of Ai. I always think that it’s really neat to go in order and to have that continuity. If you haven’t read the book of Joshua …. read it! It’s exciting, it’s true and it shows God power and love for his people.

The kids were all respectful and fun and didn’t exclude anyone in the group even though they didn’t all know it each other. Even though the week is tiring and it is a Christ filled week where the church campus comes alive with activity and you can see the church working together to Glorify God through this ministry. It’s one of the best weeks of the year!!

I’ll leave you with one of our verses for the week

Joshua 1:9
Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid. Do not be discouraged for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.

About momof4boyz

I am a stay at home mom of 4 boys ranging in age from 14-20. They are growing up! I have a new hobby - running! I am also President of a non-profit organization.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

