Chick-fil-A Cow Appreciation Shirt Craft

Chick-fil-A Cow Appreciation day is on Friday.  For those of you who don’t know this is an annual event where, if you dress like a cow, you get free food.  Who doesn’t love free food?  So every year I drag my kids over to Chick-fil-A dressed up in our cow costumes to claim our free food.  (They do not get nearly as excited about this as I do)

And, by the way, we aren’t the only people who go dressed up like cows (in case you were wondering)  There are many, many other families there claiming their free food too.  It’s a great day to people watch too!

Last year, I will admit we did the lame ‘cut out construction paper spots and tape them to our shirts route’.  Not so for this year.  This year we are going all out with cow t-shirts.

Lucky for my family I have been going through old clothes this summer and have come across a number of plain, white t-shirts that are begging to be made into some wonderful creation.

So, today we’re making cow shirts so I can be hip and cool and not lame on Friday when I enjoy my free sandwich!

Supplies Needed:

1 – plain white t-shirt
Cardboard or old magazine 
paint brush
black paint
black fabric marker (or Sharpie)
glitter (I used gold and silver)
fabric glue

I placed my white t-shirt on my table and put the cardboard (or magazine) between the front and back of the shirt (so no color bleeds to the back)

I made the outline of my cow spots with the fabric marker. If you don’t have one, you could use a Sharpie or just free form the spots with the paint.Image

I used black acrylic paint to fill them in (you could use fabric paint if you have it)Image

You could stop here and have a wonderful shirt, but I wanted my shirt to sparkle.  So, I added glitter around my spots.  I used equal parts fabric glue and glitter and mixed them up.  It is pretty thick and when I outlined the spots it didn’t look that glittery, but the glue dries clear and it looks wonderful.Image

T-da I can’t wait for Friday! Since I used fabric glue with my glitter I have heard that the shirt can be washed in the washing machine on delicate or hand washed.  I think just to be safe hand wash it.  You don’t want any excess glitter in your washing machine!

Image

About momof4boyz

I am a stay at home mom of 4 boys ranging in age from 14-20. They are growing up! I have a new hobby - running! I am also President of a non-profit organization.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

