Summer Reading for My Teens

It’s hard for my boys to pick out books to read.  It seems like they like to read the same books over and over again.  It is my mission to bring home some books from the library that will engage them and get them reading different authors.

I asked my son how he chooses books.  His answer was they have to have a cool cover.  So then I wanted to know if he read the summary.  He said ‘no, why would I?  I choose a book by how its cover looks.’

Hmmm, there is a saying that goes ‘You can’t judge a book by its cover’  Here are the ‘teen’ books we checked out on our last visit to the library, with a cover critique and content critique,

“I am a Genius of Unspeakable Evil and I want to be your Class President’ by Josh Lieb.  Yes, the title is a bit long for me, but it looked interesting.  And after you read the title you don’t need to read the summary about the book because it’s all in the title.

My son read it and thought it was OK. He gave the cover a C and the book a B.

I read it and thought it was really far fetched and unrealistic, but once you get past that it’s mostly entertaining.  So I also give it a B.  I give the cover a D.  The cover didn’t impress me at all in fact if I was picking books by their cover this wouldn’t have gotten checked out.

“Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour” by Morgan Matson. This book is about Amy and Roger’s roadtrip, which takes some detours hence the epic detour.  They drive from California to Connecticut and both find answers during the drive.  Amy’s dad has recently died and she finds some closure on the trip.  Roger’s girlfriend has recently broken up with him and he wants to win her back.

My son took one look at the cover and refused to even touch this book.  ‘It’s a girl book.’  My response was it says Roger in the title and that’s a boy name.  Still he refused to look at it.  So no rating from him.

So, I read it and really like it B+.  This book is a bit far fetched, but not as much so as the first book.  I mean really,what mother of a teenage girl is going to let a college age boy drive cross country with her daughter alone?  None that I know, but once you get past that they stop at cool places, eat cool food, play fun songs and spend one night ‘camping’ at Walmart.  It’s a good book and I liked it.

“Real Mermaids Don’t Hold their Breath” by Helene Boudreau.  I knew my son wouldn’t touch this book with a ten foot pole, but I thought it looked interesting. So, I didn’t even show it to him as a possibility.  Jade is a mermaid who is afraid of the water, but wants to save her mom who is also a mermaid, but trapped somewhere in the ocean.

I thought I’d try the cover theory, it is promising cover with a girl and all those books and she’s a mermaid.  But alas, this book is a D.  I didn’t even read the entire book, but I did like the cover and give that a B.

“Artemis Fowl The Last Guardian” by Eoin Colfer  The early Artemis Fowl books are awesome.  I have read the first three book and really like the first 2.  The third, not so much, but I don’t think I’ve read beyond that.  I didn’t realize until I checked this book out that there are now 7 books in the Artemis series and this is the last one.

My son liked this book, but didn’t like it enough to read it again, so it’s a B for the cover and a B for the book.  He did like it the first time, but he said not enough to re-read it.

I like the cover.  I give it a B.  In the early books Artemis is young, so it looks like he’s grown up a lot.  I didn’t read the whole thing so it’s a D, a C if you’ve read all the other books and really have to read the last one.

I have put some more books on hold at the library which I need to go pick up.  Hopefully there are some winners in that batch!  Happy Reading!Image

About momof4boyz

I am a stay at home mom of 4 boys ranging in age from 14-20. They are growing up! I have a new hobby - running! I am also President of a non-profit organization.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

