Ice Cream Cake

My youngest son turned 13 on Tuesday.  His requested birthday cake was an ice cream cake.  My first thought was I’d just bite the bullet and buy one.  But, as I browsed through Pinterest I saw how easy they were to make, so I decided to make one.ice cream cake

I did find out from my son whether he wanted the entire ‘cake’ make of ice cream or if he wanted cake and ice cream on my creation.  He decided on only ice cream and the two ice cream flavors we used were Toffee Crunch and S’more.  You can use any kinds of ice cream.  Once the ice cream flavors were decided on and the cake vs. no cake done I got to work.

1 package oreos
1/2 c. melted butter
1 1.75 qt container of ice cream (or 1/2 of 2 containers if you want to use 2 flavors)
1 jar hot fudge
1 container Cool Whip
1 crushed Heath bar
raspberries

I crushed up about 2 rows or oreos in my food processor. I added 1/4 c. melted butter to this and pressed it into my 9″ spring-form pan.  If you don’t have a spring form pan you can use an 8 x 8 or 9 x 9 pan.

Then I added my first layer of ice cream.  I used about half of a 1.75 qt container.  I let it sit out on the counter while I made the crust and was soft enough to work with.

Then I crushed up another row of the oreos and added magic shell to them until they were covered.  Then I placed this on the first layer of ice cream.

Then I added my second flavor ice cream.

Then I added one jar of store bought hot fudge.  If you are ambitious you could make your own, but I had a coupon so I bought one!

Then I added a container of cool whip and put crushed Heath bars on top and some raspberries.

Of course my son was not impressed with the raspberries, but I have to make it a tiny, tiny, tiny bit healthy don’t I?  You can omit them if you don’t have any.

My son loved his cake so much I made another one for the sleepover he has having right now, but that is a story for another time.

Enoy!

ice cream pie

About momof4boyz

I am a stay at home mom of 4 boys ranging in age from 14-20. They are growing up! I have a new hobby - running! I am also President of a non-profit organization.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

