Training for 48.8 Miles Week 1 – WDW Dopey Challenege

I started the Galloway training plan for the Dopey Challenge at Walt Disney World in January, 20016.  I am in Phoenix, and it is super hot here, even at 5am which makes it hard to run. I try to get out early and be done before the sun is too far up.

Day 1 June 30th – We had a huge storm during the night. Our neighborhood ended up on the front page of the newspaper the next day….there were 80 mph winds that did lots of damage: downed trees, walls and debris everywhere. I wanted to be out at 5am, but ended up picking up trash out of our yard because our trash cans blew over, along with everyone else in the neighborhood. I did end up starting about 5:30 and I’m going to have to say I saw 6 of my neighbors out assessing damage and picking up trash. That is a record! I’ve never seen so many people out that early before!

Started my run about 5:30. The good thing about the storm was that it cooled temperatures down to about 85. Bad thing was it was super humid out. But, there was plenty to look at as I ran 6 miles. I ran on the golf course part of the way and they lost two big trees on the front 9. The downed trees were blocking the path, so no golf carts could get through, but it was easy enough to run around them. It was a good run with plenty to look at.

July 2 – ran 4 miles. Much harder today. It was hot – 88 and humid at 5:30am.

July 5 – Long run day – 10.24 miles. It was a great day for a long run. Even though it was 90 degrees, it was overcast the entire run. And I got an earlier start at 5:15am. I’ve been struggling on my long runs the past couple of weeks, but today felt great and I ran the entire way.

July 7 – ran 6 miles. It was 86 degrees when I started, but so humid I was dripping the entire way. I ran a new route today, running an out and back on Cholla. I wasn’t planning on doing this when I started, but I’ve been getting a tiny bit tired of my “usual” routes and decided to change it up. A high school cross country team was ahead of me on the way back. They made the light and I didn’t, so they were way ahead of me; and that’s a good thing (or bad). Then I didn’t feel like I had to keep up with them!

Week 1 successfully completed and week 2 started! Disney here I come!

 

About momof4boyz

I am a stay at home mom of 4 boys ranging in age from 14-20. They are growing up! I have a new hobby - running! I am also President of a non-profit organization.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

