Training Continues – Week 2 WDW 48.8 miles

Training continues. I am loosely following the Jeff Galloway Dopey Challenge Plan. Week 1 in the plan is 2 days of running 45 minutes and 1 day of 3 miles. The mileage is too short for me, as I want to stay at about 20 running miles per week. But, what I like about the plan is that it’s only 3 days of running which is what I’d like to stay with during the summer. I might move to Hal Higdon Dopey Challenge Plan in the fall. That has more running days. We’ll see how busy I end up being.

July 9 – Another hot day! But, I didn’t get out of the house until 6am. I did power through and ran 5.5 miles

July 12 – Sunday long run! Oh boy, another torturous long run in the Arizona heat. It was  87 degrees when I left my house early, early early at 4:55 am. But, so glad I got out early today! It is so much easier to run when the sun isn’t beating down on me. It wasn’t dark, but the first light was coming out when I left and I had 3-4 miles in before the sun was up. Actually, I felt really good today and instead of my usual 10 miles, I went 11 miles. It could also be the lucky penny I found on the road this morning! I think we’ve all heard stories about someone who walks and finds money nearly every time they leave the house….well that’s not me and I was happy to find something!

sunriseT

Starting week 3 tomorrow….can’t wait to see what the next adventure is!

About momof4boyz

I am a stay at home mom of 4 boys ranging in age from 14-20. They are growing up! I have a new hobby - running! I am also President of a non-profit organization.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Training Continues – Week 2 WDW 48.8 miles

Leave a Reply

