The Dog ate my Running Shoe – Week 3 training Dopey Challenge

My husband had to have a dog! So, around Christmas he found himself a dog. The dog is very hyper and runs around like a crazy person. Hubby insists this is because he is a “puppy”. He’s not a puppy because he over a year old (at least in my book).

Anyway, hubby insisted that the dog had to stay inside with him while he took a nap. So, he took a nap while the dog wandered around our bedroom chewing up things. He not  only took a bite out of my running shoes, he chewed up two other of my shoes, my feather duster and assorted other papers.

shoe 1

See that bite mark….ugh!

shoe 3

Well, at least he didn’t chew up my entire shoe and just took a bite out of it. The sad thing was I didn’t notice I was putting it on before a run.

So, I do really like these shoes. They are New Balance 790v2. They are very light weight and they have a nice cushion. I don’t have another pair of these shoes, so I was a little unhappy I had to take these off and find another pair to run in. I ended up my old New Balance 780, which are heavier and not as cushioned. So I was a little unhappy, but guess who is getting new shoes?

Still running 3 days a week…keeping at about 20-21 miles a week.

July 14 – Ran 5.24 miles. Nice and  hot like usual….87 degrees

July 16 – Ran 5.57 miles. Same…87 degrees

July 19 – Long run day. Got out early…4:55am and it was overcast and was suppose to rain (it didn’t) It was 78 degrees, with about 80% humidity. So the 78 degrees felt like 90. It was so humid and I was soaking wet when I got home. So, wet that I sat down and left a puddle! I have not ever been that soaking wet after a run before. It is not too humid in AZ, so I considered this run great training to run in FL where it does get really humid. Did manage to go 10.5 miles. I did have to take a nap after the run, but I made it!

Happy Running!

 

About momof4boyz

I am a stay at home mom of 4 boys ranging in age from 14-20. They are growing up! I have a new hobby - running! I am also President of a non-profit organization.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

