White Sands National Monument

Over the break my family and I had the chance to go to White Sands National Monument just outside Alamogordo, NM.

img_0046 img_0079 img_0060 img_0053

We did the 5 mile Alkali hike. There is no path per say, you look for the red poles and hike from one pole to the next. What was most surprising to me, was that most of the time it wasn’t loose sand like you might walk through at the beach. A lot of the hike was on packed sand. When you went up and down the dunes the sand was thick and you would almost slide down, but walking on top of the dunes was packed sand.

img_0077 img_0073

It was a cold day. It was 39 degrees when we started the hike and about 43 when we finished. It was a fun hike!

I couldn’t get my kids to sled down the sand dunes, but hiking up and down the dunes involved a fair amount of sledding on your feet, so I think it worked out. The families we saw sledding all looked like they were having a fun time.

We spend about three hours at the park and then we hit the road to drive back home.

About momof4boyz

I am a stay at home mom of 4 boys ranging in age from 14-20. They are growing up! I have a new hobby - running! I am also President of a non-profit organization.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

